18 Nov 2014/Sacred Cow and Dog

So as I go out onto the street of Mall Ave, here in Lucknow, of Uttar Pradesh, India to feed what I call a Prayerful Feeding for the Street Dogs, I hear a Cow “mooing”. It sounds almost distressful. I cannot help but walk down the street to “see” what is happening.
It is standing in the street, seeming to took for something. As I approach the Cow, It starts to walk toward me as if It knows I have food. It is sensing that I want to connect, and that I am of no harm.
Now, the “Queen” street dog of this territory, “Chameli” sees me, and knows I have food, and she come running to me. As I try to give the Cow a biscuit, she begins to bark in attack toward the Cow. I give her a gentle correction and offer her a biscuit, and then give the Cow a biscuit. I then begin walking back to the normal feeding sight. The Cow and Chameli begin following me. As I offer another biscuit to each this begin a game of offering to both. It become a offering of gratitude to both the Sacred Mother that nurtures us, and the Faithful Dog that offers us Father-like Protection, and the Unconditional Love that the balance of the two as One give us.
Just then, a motorcycle approaches. Upon this motorcycle is a man and boy. They stop next to us and the boy gets off, making loud noises toward Chameli to scare her off. I acknowledge them with a Namaste, and the boy approaches the Cow. I understand this is their Cow, and they are wanting her to return home so they can milk her very engorged teets. The man bows with a Yes and the boy walks over to the Cow smacking her across the face. The Cow closes her eyes in a wince and turns her head. The voice in me hollers out, “No, No….what is that for? Why do you smack her?” The man says some words to the boy and moves the motorcycle over by him, and passes the Cow toward the direction they need to travel. The boy looks at me, and then get on the motorcycle. The man then offers mooing noises to the Cow, and the Cow begins to follow them. As they go around the bend in the road, the boy keeps turning to look at me, in wonder.
I continue to set up the feeding mandala for the Dogs, calling Chameli back in, and contemplating the teaching lesson that we all just received through these Animals.
If one smacks the Sacred Cow, and scares off the Father Protector, they will run off or bite you. However, if you treat them kindly, with sacredness they will follow you anywhere, care for you, offering all they have.
We have a choice in what we teach our children. We have a choice in how we treat the Sacred Beings of our Creator. If we are kind, gentle, and offer in a sacred loving way, they will come and respond in this same way. If we are aggressive or scary, they get aggressive back or run away.
We are responsible to teach and more importantly demonstrate to our Children these Truths. Especially if we want them to live in a better world that we all keep “talking” about wanting.
What we put out to the world is what the world gives back to us. In this world, maybe some of us Adults need to learn and live them ourselves, the children will follow and the world will be a much better place for all Animals.
Myshell Howler, Outreach RScP, OAC
http://www.ahowan.org

Leave a Reply

